Our Rich History
Quincy, Illinois' Unitarian Congregation was founded in 1839
- Books have been written about the History of our Congregation:
- 1839 to 1939 - 100th Anniversary (9.51 MB .pdf file) by Dr. E. B. Montgomery
- Beyond the Centennial Year (24.64 MB .pdf file) - 1939 to 1989 - by Frieda Marshall
- Sequel to Beyond the Centennial Year (4.55 MB .pdf file) - by Frieda Marshall
- A Second Sequel to Beyond the Centennial Year (4.96 MB .pdf file) - by Frieda Marshall
- Celebrating 175 Years in Quincy, Illinois - 100 Years at 1479 Hampshire Street (3.49 MB .pdf file) - by Dienna Danhaus Drew & Frieda Dege Marshall.
A chronological list of the ministers who have served this congregation from its beginnings to the present.
Our legacy is built upon the shoulders of the faithful members who preceded us. Memorial contributions given to preserve their presence in our memories are stepping stones into the future of our congregation.
On October 12, 1972, 45 members (63% of the active membership) signed A Declaration of World Citizenship.
In 2004, Frieda Marshall searched our archives and gave us a perspective from the 1880's, when our Minister, James Villa Blake, authored the covenant that many Unitarian Universalist congregations have used as a model for their own.
In 2005, Judy Crocker and Sandy Morrison surveyed our membership and found several of Our Unitarian Families which have a history of four and five generations of active participation in the life of this church.
Our Church Building
- Our Historic Organ was originally installed in a prior church building. Our present building was specially built to house it!
In 1989, Dienna Drew presented a talk entitled "Our Four Churches, Their Celebrations and People." which details all of the buildings that this congregation has occupied.